Anime Songs Debuting in January 2019: Part 2

03.January.2019 | ANIME&GAME / FEATURES / MUSIC

Japanese anime is popular worldwide, and one part of the watching-experience that makes a series so memorable is its opening and ending themes.


This is part two of our list of bands and artists providing music for ongoing series and soon-to-air series. Click here for part one.

Q-MHz & SKY-HI x Run with the Wind

Japanese music group Q-MHz which is composed of Aki Hata, Tomokazu Tashiro, Katsuhiko Kurosu and Tomoya Tabuchi (UNISON SQUARE GARDEN) are teaming up with AAA member Mitsuhiro Hidaka―who is also active as a solo rapper under the bane SKY-HI―to release a new digital single called Kaze Tsuyoku, Kimi Atsuku on January 23. The song will be used as the second opening song for the ongoing anime series Run with the Wind. It features a running-like melody coupled with SKY-HI’s vocals and rapping.


Full Details:


Kaze Tsuyoku, Kimi Astsuku.

Release Date: January 23, 2019
To be released on iTunes Store, Recochoku and other digital platforms.


Q-MHz Official Website:

SKY-HI Official Website:


Run with the Wind Official Website:

©Shiwon Miura・Shinchosha / 寛政大学陸上競技部後援会


Taichi Mukai x Run with the Wind

Japanese singer-songwriter Taichi Mukai released his second album PURE last month. The song Reset on his new album is used as the current ending theme for the ongoing anime series Run with the Wind and it has been announced that he is set to perform the second ending theme with his new song Michi. The series, currently on its 11th episode, is set to begin airing again on January 8, 2019.


Full Details:



Michi (Run with the Wind Ending Theme)

*Release Details TBA.

Taichi Mukai Official Website:


Run with the Wind Official Website:

©Shiwon Miura・Shinchosha / 寛政大学陸上競技部後援会


Miku Itō x Ueno-san wa Bukiyou

Singer and voice actress Miku Itō’s 5th single Hirameki Heartbeat will be used as the opening theme for the TV anime series Ueno-san wa Bukiyou which is set to begin airing in January 2019. The music video was shot in Kyoto where we get to see the city’s beautiful streets. The theme of the video is “manufacturing” which we see as Itō challenges herself to a range of different activities.



Full Details:



Hirameki Heartbeat

Release Date: January 16, 2019

Limited Edition (CD+DVD): ¥1,800 (+Tax) [COZC-1497/8]

Regular Edition (CD-Only): ¥1,200 (+Tax) [COCC-17542]

Miku Itō Official Website:


Ueno-san wa Bukiyou will air in January 2019 on TOKYO MX, BS11 and J:COM.

Official Website:

© tugeneko・Hakusensha / Ueno-san wa Bukiyou Production Committee


Maneki Kecak x Okoshiyasu, Chitose-chan

Japanese idol group Maneki Kecak will release their long-awaited new single Itsuka Dokoka de / One Chance on March 20, 2019. The track Itsuka Dokoka de will be used as the new ending theme for the anime series Okoshiyasu, Chitose-chan which follows the adventures of the cute penguin Chitose-chan in Kyoto. It is described as a cute song that talks about the sights Chitose-chan sees while in Kyoto.


Full Details:



Itsuka Dokoka de / One Chance
Release Date: March 20, 2019
Type-A First Press Limited Edition (CD+DVD): ¥2,000 (+Tax)
Type-B Miyuu Nakagawa Edition (CD): ¥1,111 (+Tax)
Type-C Rin Miyauchi Edition (CD): ¥1,111 (+Tax)
Type-D Reona Matsushita Edition (CD): ¥1,111 (+Tax)
Type-E Mio Fukase Edition (CD): ¥1,111 (+Tax)
Type-F Aoi Shinohara Edition (CD): ¥1,111 (+Tax)
Type-G Regular Edition (CD): ¥1,111 (+Tax)


Maneki Kecak Official Website:

Okoshiyasu, Chitose-chan Official Website:
©Yukiko Natsume・Kodansha / VAP